
WELLINGTON FIRE PROTECTION DISTRICT 

RESOLUTION #2017–02 

 

A RESOLUTION ADOPTING A FEE SCHEDULE FOR ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, APPARATUS 

USE, AND FIRE PREVENTION INSPECTIONS, AS ALLOWED BY THE STATUTES OF THE STATE OF 

COLORADO, §32-1-1001 (k) § 24-72-205 and §32-1-1002 (1)(e)(II), AS AMENDED. 

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE WELLINGTON FIRE 

PROTECTION DISTRICT, LARIMER COUNTY, COLORADO; 

THE ADOPTION OF A DISTRICT FEE SCHEDULE FOR ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES AS 

ATTACHED AS EXHIBIT A; 

THE ADOPTION OF A DISTRICT FEE SCHEDULE FOR APPARATUS USE AS ATTACHED AS 

EXHIBIT B; 

THE ADOPTION OF A DISTRICT FEE SCHEDULE FOR FIRE PREVENTION INSPECTIONS AND 

PERMITS AS ATTACHED AS EXHIBIT C. 

 

Effective August 2, 2017 

 

Introduced, read, and adopted by the Board of Directors of the Wellington Fire Protection District on this 2nd day 

of August, 2017. 

 

 

ATTEST: 

 

 

 

________________________________   ________________________________ 

Kenneth Pettit, President    Carol Story, Secretary 

  



EXHIBIT A 

Administrative Fee Schedule 

Resolution 2017-02 

Effective August 2, 2017 
 

1. Records Requests: Incident reports, fire investigation reports, miscellaneous copies of public records in 

accordance with Colorado Revised Statute Title 24, Article 72, Section 205 (1) or The Fraudulent 

Claims and Arson Information Act.  Colorado Revised Statute §10-4-1001 shall be assessed a fee of $15 

for the first 10 pages and $.25 per page thereafter.  Copies of CD’s of any photos, which have been 

authorized for release, will be assessed a fee of $25 per CD.  Construction plan documents (blueprints) 

shall be assessed a fee of $5 per page if greater than 11” X 17”.  A fee of $20/hour may be assessed for 

location and retrieval of large volumes of documents. 

2. Facilities Use:  Organizations requesting the use of facilities pay a fee of $50 for each half-day use or 

$100 for each full day use. The fee is intended to offset costs for cleaning and maintaining the facilities 

as well as personnel time for set up and security of the facilities. Any public or non-profit community 

organizations that do not charge for participation in their events may request that the fee be waived. This 

request must be made at the time the request for use is submitted. An advance deposit of up to $100 may 

be required regardless of fees. Wellington Fire Protection District is under no obligation to supply any 

soft goods or refreshments to a permitted user.  Alcoholic beverages and use of tobacco are NOT 

permitted on District property. The Chief or their designee must approve use of AV equipment, in 

advance. 

  



EXHIBIT B 

Apparatus Use Fee Schedule 

Resolution 2017-02 

Effective August 2, 2017 
 

 Statement of Intent for Apparatus Fees: 

1) This schedule shall be used for Out of District, U.S. I-25, CO Hwy 1, and BNSF ROW Responses.  

2) This schedule shall be used for Fire Protection Systems testing when a District apparatus is required. 

3) This schedule shall be used for required emergency stand-by for an event. 

4) A two-hour minimum shall be used. 

5) The schedule includes staff wages but does not include any materials, additional services, and/or 

supplies used. 

 

Special contracts with the Colorado State Forest Service, Colorado State Patrol or any Federal agency                       

shall be covered under a separate agreement between the affected entities. 

• Type I Engine/Rescue  $130/hr. 

• Type III Engine  $110/hr. 

• Water Tender   $75/hr. 

• Type VI Engine  $75/hr. 

• Medic Unit   $50/hr. 

• Command/Staff Vehicles $50/hr. 

• Aerial Truck    $280/hr. 

  



EXHIBIT C 

Fire Prevention Inspection Fee Schedule 

Resolution 2017-02 

Effective August 2, 2017 
 

CONSTRUCTION INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT  
BUILDING DEPARTMENT 

VALUATION 
DESCRIPTION 

Tenant Finish or 

Improvement 

$260.00 Up to $50,000.00 This inspection fee is required to obtain a 

construction permit to modify, change or alter 

the interior of any building other than One- and 

Two-Family Dwellings and Group U buildings. 
0.006 X Valuation Over $50,000.00 

New Building 

Core & Shell or 

Building Addition 

$260.00 Up to $50,000.00 This inspection fee is required to obtain a 

construction permit to construct or add to the 

total area of any building other than One- and 

Two-Family Dwellings and Group U buildings. 
0.006 X Valuation Over $50,000.00 

Townhomes $200.00 per unit N/A 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a 

construction permit to construct attached 

single-family dwellings (townhomes). 

Additional 

Reviewer Time 
$75.00 per hour, minimum 1 hour N/A 

This inspection fee is necessitated by revisions 

or incomplete submittals. 

    

NEW DEVELOPMENT INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

TYPE OF PERMIT REVIEW FEE DESCRIPTION 

Submittal Fee 

$0 per submittal 

$75.00 per hour after 1st two hours 

per submittal 

All submittals for New Subdivisions, PUD review, and other planning 

issues shall be subject to this fee.  All submittals requiring more than two 

hours of plan review time shall be assessed additional fees per hour.  

Fees collected under this section may be deducted from construction 

permits. 

    

FIRE PROTECTION EQUIPMENT AND SYSTEMS INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT FEE DESCRIPTION 

Fire Protection 

Underground  

Fire Line 

$260.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to extend, 

modify or alter an underground fire service main  

(underground fire lines). 

Automatic 

Protection 

System 

$260.00 + $2.00 per head 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

new automatic sprinkler system in multi-family residential, hotel, 

business or commercial facilities. 

 

  



FIRE PROTECTION EQUIPMENT AND SYSTEMS INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE (CONTINUED) 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT FEE DESCRIPTION 

Automatic 

Protection 

System, 1 & 2 

Family Dwellings 

$260.00 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

new automatic sprinkler system in single-family detached housing. 

Automatic 

Protection 

System, 

Modification 

$260.00 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to extend, 

modify or alter an existing automatic sprinkler system. 

Fire Pump $500.00 (includes jockey pump) 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

fire pump in all structures other than One- and Two-Family Dwellings. 

Standpipe 
$260.00 + $100.00 each additional 

riser 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

standpipe system. 

Fire Detection 

System, New 
$260.00 +$2.00 per initiating device 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

new fire alarm system or replace a fire alarm system in multi-family 

residential, hotel, business or commercial facilities. 

Fire Detection 

System, 

Residential 

$260.00 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

new fire alarm system in One- and Two-Family Dwellings. 

Fire Detection 

System, 

Modification 

$260.00 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit for 

extensions, modifications, or alterations of existing fire alarm systems. 

Exit/Access 

Control Systems 
$260.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

or modify an access control system(s) in all commercial occupancies. 

Hood & Duct Fire 

Protection 

System 

$260.00 for first system + $100.00 for 

each additional system installed and 

tested in the same business at the 

same time. 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

hood and duct fire protection systems. 

Bi-Directional 

Amplification 

System 

$260.00 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

public safety radio amplification system. 

Fire Hydrants $260.00 per hydrant 
This inspection fee is required to review, approve and sign plans showing 

the locations of fire hydrants. 

Water Tanks for 

Fire Protection 
$260.00 for each tank or cistern 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

water tanks that are required by the Code to hold the fire fighting water 

supply for a project. 

Vehicle Access 

Gates 
$260.00  

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

vehicle access gates across Fire District access roads-public or private. 



HAZARDOUS MATERIALS CONSTRUCTION INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT FEE DESCRIPTION 

Hazardous 

Materials 
$500.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install, 

repair damage to, abandon, remove, place temporarily out of service, or 

close or substantially modify a storage facility or other area regulated by 

the fire code when the hazardous materials in use or storage exceed the 

amounts listed.  (See exceptions in Code). 

AST or UST 

Removal 

$500.00 for 1st tank + $150.00 for each 

additional tank at the same site. 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install, 

remove, abandon, or place temporarily out of service, or otherwise 

dispose of a flammable or combustible liquids tank. 

AST or UST 

Permanent 

Installation 

(Vehicle Fueling) 

$500.00 for 1st tank +$100.00 for each 

additional tank at the same site. 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install, 

construct or alter tanks or equipment used for the storage of flammable 

or combustible liquids that are part of a Motor Vehicle Fuel Dispensing 

Facility (inclusive of fuel dispensers) (see “Fuel Dispensers” below when 

only the installation of dispensers is taking place). 

Fuel Dispensers 
$500.00 for 1st dispenser + $50.00 per 

each additional dispenser 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

or modify fuel dispensers (See exceptions in Code). 

AST or UST 

Permanent 

Installation 

(Other) 

$500.00 for 1st tank +$100.00 for each 

additional tank. 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install, 

construct or alter tanks or equipment used for the storage of flammable 

or combustible liquids that are NOT part of a Motor Vehicle Fuel 

Dispensing Facility (e.g. generator fuel tanks). 

Battery Systems 

(UPS) 
$500.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

stationary lead-acid battery system having a liquid capacity of more than 

100 gallons (includes gel cells). 

Compressed Gas 

Systems 
$500.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install, 

repair damage to, abandon, remove, place temporarily out of service, or 

close or substantially modify a compressed gas system. 

LP-Gas Bulk 

Facility 
$500.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

bulk LP-gas systems. 

Medical Gas 

Systems 
$500.00 + $20.00 per outlet 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install a 

nitrous oxide and/or oxygen medical gas system. 

Spray Booths, 

Spray Rooms, or 

Mixing Rooms 

$500.00 for each booth or room 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

booths or equipment, or construct rooms used for the mixing, spraying, 

dipping or drying of flammable or combustible liquids. 

 

  



SPECIAL PERMITS, TENTS, CANOPIES, AND TEMPORARY MEMBRANE STRUCTURES 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT FEE DESCRIPTION 

Tent Permit* 

$50.00 for a single event 

$100.00 for two or three events 

$200.00 for more than three events 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to 

construct a temporary structure with an area of 200 square feet or 

greater with more than 75% of the sides enclosed at a single location. 

Canopy Permit* 

$50.00 for a single event 

$100.00 for two or three events 

$200.00 for more than three events 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to 

construct a temporary structure with an area of 400 square feet or 

greater with less than 75% of the sides enclosed at a single location. 

Special Events* 

$100.00 for a single occurrence 

$200.00 for two or three occurrences 

$400.00 for more than three 

occurrences 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to 

construct multiple tents or canopies for a special event, farmers 

market, art fair, etc.  Occurrence shall mean the number of set-ups that 

occur during a calendar year.  

Temporary 

Membrane 

Structure 

$200.00 per structure 
This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to 

construct any temporary membrane structure.  (regardless of size) 

Fireworks 

$200.00 for outdoor display 

$200.00 for indoor display (proximate) 

$200.00 for fireworks stand or sale 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a permit for the use or sale of 

explosive materials. 

* Valid for 180 days during a one-year time frame from time of permit issuance. 

   

MISCELLANEOUS CONSTRUCTION INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE 

TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT  DESCRIPTION 

Temporary Access 

Road Agreement 

30 Days - $250.00 

60 Days - $500.00 

90 Days - $1000.00 

This inspection fee is required to obtain a construction permit to install 

a temporary access road in compliance with District standards for a 

specific time period. 

Re-Inspection Fee 

(permits) 

$200 for first offense, double the 

previous fee for every re-inspection 

issued thereafter.  (per permit) 

This inspection fee shall be assessed for each permit re-inspection 

when: an inspection is called and is not complete when the inspector 

arrives; when corrections called out on a previous inspection are not 

made; or when a contractor does not have the permit card and/or the 

plans are not available to the inspector. 

Existing 

Commercial 

Building Code 

Inspection Fee 

$100.00 per inspection after the third 

inspection visit. 

This inspection fee shall be assessed to the responsible party for each 

re-inspection after the third inspection for code compliance in a 

calendar year.  This fee is only charged for existing occupancies that 

undergo code inspections. 

After Hours 

Inspection 
$100.00 per hour (minimum two hours) 

This inspection fee shall be assessed when the Fire District conducts an 

inspection after or before the normal business hours of 8:00 am and 

5:00 pm Monday through Friday. 

  



MISCELLANEOUS CONSTRUCTION INSPECTION FEE SCHEDULE (CONTINUED) 
TYPE OF PERMIT PERMIT FEE  DESCRIPTION 

Removal of Stop 

Work Order  

(other than work 

without a permit) 

$500.00 for first offense, double the 

previous fee for every stop work order 

issued thereafter. 

This inspection fee shall be paid to the District in order to remove a 

“Stop Work Order” issued by the District.  In addition to this fee, a re-

inspection fee shall be paid and if after normal working hours the cost 

of the “After Hours” inspection will be assessed and shall be paid prior 

to the lifting of the “Stop Work Order” 

Work Without a 

Permit or 

Approval 

Double Permit Fee 

This inspection fee shall be assessed whenever any work for which a 

permit is required by the Fire District has been commenced without 

first obtaining the permit. 

Technical 

Assistance Fee 

Actual Cost to Reimburse Wellington 

Fire Protection District 

To determine the acceptability of technologies, processes, products, 

facilities, materials, and uses attending the design, operation or use of a 

building or premises subject to the inspection of the District. 

Alternative 

Materials & 

Methods 

$260.00 per request + 

$75.00 per hour review time 

This inspection fee is to be assessed to evaluate and process each 

proposed alternate materials or methods. 

Variance Request $260.00 per request 
This inspection fee is assessed to evaluate and process each Variance 

Request. 

Additional Plan 

Reviews 
$75.00 per hour 

This inspection fee shall be paid for the review of plans when changes 

are made to the plans that have been previously approved. 

Misc. Inspection 

Fee 
$75.00 per hour 

This inspection fee is to be assessed when there is no other applicable 

fee indicated and which occurs during normal business hours. 

Other Permits 

Required by the 

International Fire 

Code 

$260.00 

This fee is assessed for all permits and certificates, as required by the 

adopted International Fire Code other than Open Burning Permits 

issued by the Fire District or County. 

Re-issue Permit 

Card or Plan 

Review Document 

$25.00 
This inspection fee is to be assessed to re-issue a permit card or plan 

review document. 

   

 

  



NOTES: 

1. This fee schedule is approved by the Board of Directors per CRS 32-1-1002(1)(e)(II). 
2. The Fire Marshal is authorized to make interpretations and clarification changes to the fee descriptions. 
3. The Fire Marshal is authorized to collect inspection fees for construction permits and for other items set forth in this 

schedule. 
4. The “Plan Review Fee” is 1/3 of the combined plan review and inspection fee. 
5. The “Plan Review Fee” is to be collected from the contractor when the contractor cancels a permit or when the plans are 

reviewed without a permit being issued. 
6. The “Plan Review Fee” may be required to be collected at the time of submittal at the discretion of the Fire Marshal or the 

reviewer. 
7. The “Plan Review Fee” is required to be collected at the time of submittal when the contractor has not been selected. 
8. All fees to be rounded to the nearest whole dollar. 
9. NSF checks shall be charged a fee of $35.00 per occurrence. 

 



  

 

EXHIBIT D 

Excessive False Alarm Inspection Fee Schedule 

Resolution 2017-02 

Effective August 2, 2017 

 

This section establishes fees for excessive and unnecessary false fire alarms.  These types of alarms 

unnecessarily endanger firefighters and citizens during a response.   

 

Section 1 – Definitions: The following definitions shall apply to this resolution: 

 

A) Category I Alarms: Any alarm requiring a fire department response where the system operated properly 

under the following conditions: 

 

 1) Accidental: Any alarms caused by the following: 

  a) A guest or circumstances beyond the control of management. 

  b) An accidental smoke or fire condition. 

 

      *Category I alarms shall not be assessed a fee.* 

 

B)   Category II Alarms: Any alarm requiring a fire department response under the following conditions: 

 

 1) System Malfunction: Any alarm caused by poor or improper maintenance, improper installation of 

alarm equipment, hardware or wiring. An improper action by the alarm monitoring center shall also be 

considered a system malfunction. 

 2) User Error: The act or omission of an agent, employee or contractor of management. 

3) Undetermined Cause: Any alarm which after investigation by the fire department does not reveal the 

apparent cause of the alarm. If the alarm system owner, or their agent, can provide proof of cause 

within two (2) working days from the alarm time, the fire department may re-evaluate the assessment. 

 

*Category II alarms shall be termed “unnecessary” and will be assessed a fee as outlined in Table 1.* 

 

C)   Malicious Alarms: Any alarm caused by a malicious or mischievous action. 

1)  These alarms are unlawful. The individual responsible for a malicious alarm(s) may be subject to 

criminal action as defined in the Colorado Revised Statutes and be responsible for the cost of the 

response to the alarm. 

  



Section 2 - Excessive Alarm Rate Based on Type of Violations: 

 

2.1 Existing Occupancies:  Any fire alarm system found to have three or more Category II alarms, as 

defined in this resolution, in a calendar year shall be considered in violation of this resolution.  An 

excessive alarm fee shall be charged to the owner of that fire alarm system.  

 

2.2 Fire Alarm Monitoring or Fire Protection Maintenance Companies: Any fire alarm monitoring or 

fire protection maintenance companies found to have three or more Category II alarms at any 

combination of properties, as defined in this resolution, in a calendar year shall be considered in 

violation of this resolution.  An  excessive alarm fee shall be charged to the fire alarm installation/testing 

company, fire alarm monitoring company, or fire protection maintenance company depending upon 

which is found to be the cause of the false alarm.  If designation of cause cannot be distinguished 

between the companies, then the owner of the property found to be in violation shall be charged the 

appropriate fees. 

 

2.3 New Construction: Any new construction site found to have three or more Category II alarms, as 

defined in this resolution, shall be considered in violation of this resolution.  An excessive alarm fee 

shall be charged to the owner of said property. 

 

 

The excessive fees shall be assessed as follows: 

The third Category II alarm in violation of Section 2.1, 2.2 or 2.3 in any calendar year will be assessed a fee of 

$200.00. The fee will progressively increase by an additional $100.00 for each violation with no fee limit. See 

Table 1 for details. 

 

Table 1 –Excessive Alarm Fees 

 
In Violation of Section 2.1, 2.2 and 2.3 

Number of Alarms Fee For Each Alarm 

1 $ 0.00 

2 $ 0.00 

3 $200.00 

4 $300.00 

5 $400.00 

6 $500.00 

7 $600.00 

Note: This table continues indefinitely with an accumulating increase of $100.00 per incident. 

 

  



Section 3 - Rebate Eligibility: Within thirty days following any alarm in violation of Section 1.1 of this 

resolution the owner may provide the District with a written document which shows that necessary repairs or 

corrections have been made to the fire alarm system by a qualified agency. Upon determination by the District 

that all necessary repairs to the fire alarm system have been made, the owner is eligible to receive a fifty percent 

rebate on the excessive alarm fee, if requested within 30 days of the determination by the District. 

 

*Rebate eligibility does not apply to Sections 2.2 and 2.3.* 

 

Section 4 - Failure to Pay Fees: Failure of any fees to be paid by contracted companies or general contractors 

shall be charged to the owner of the system in violation of this resolution. Owners of alarm systems more than 

ninety days in arrears for all excessive emergency alarm inspection fees, due under this resolution, shall have a 

perpetual lien placed against the property pursuant to Colorado Revised Statutes, §32-1-1001(j).  The owner 

shall be responsible to reimburse the Wellington Fire Protection District for all reasonable legal fees incurred in 

collecting such fees. 

  



EXHIBIT E 

EMS Fee Schedule 

Resolution 2017-02 

Effective August 2, 2017 
 

 

 

• Community Training Programs 

o CPR Only  $45.00 per student 

o CPR and First Aid $65.00 per student 


